Autostart with the new Raspbian GUI

Just had an email from Ben in snowy Munich pointing out that the Raspbian GUI update issued on 24/12/2014 has broken autostart.

Ben says, it seems the autostart directory name has changed to /home/pi/.config/lxsession/LXDE-pi/ from /home/pi/.config/lxsession/LXDE/

I came across this post, a comment of which, put me on track:

http://www.raspberrypi-spy.co.uk/2014/05/how-to-autostart-apps-in-rasbian-lxde-desktop/#comment-108433

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autostart with the new Raspbian GUI

  1. benlightmiller says:

    Hi Ken, I just did a fresh pi presents install on a brand new Raspberry Pi 2 B – and had another issue getting Pi Presents to autostart on power up.

    Here is what I did to make it work: I am using a fresh install of NOOBS 1.3.12 (with the 3.18 Linux Kernel). I created the lxsession/LXDE-pi/ directories under /home/pi/.config/ then I created the autostart file in the LXDE-pi directory with the line:

    python /home/pi/pipresents/pipresents.py -p myshowname -f

    and ran: $ chmod +x /home/pi/.config/lxsession/LXDE-pi/autostart

    Note that if i added a “sudo” at the start of the line pi presents was not able to find the show profile.

    I hope this helps others.

    • KenT says:

      If you use sudo then you have to use the -o command line option to specify the full path of the pp_home.

      How does Pi Presents run on Pi2. Not sure whether to expect a small (*1.3 or large (*6) speed-up for starting videos and loading large images.

      • benlightmiller says:

        Thanks Ken, I must have missed the -o option! I’ll try to do a proper comparison test when I have a minute – for now I can say that Pi Presents runs great on a Pi2 – the whole system feels much “snappier”.

Leave a Reply

